State Capitol Photo 1


M. Scott Carter

M. Scott Carter reports on politics, legislation and other issues from the State Capitol.

Incoming Oklahoma Supreme Court Chief Justice John Reif administered the oath of office to 149 members of the state legislature Tuesday during ceremonies at the state Capitol.

Gov. Mary Fallin talks with new lawmakers following swearing in ceremonies at the state Capitol, Tuesday.

Members of the Oklahoma House of Representatives took their oath of office at 10:30 a.m. Tuesday, while members of the Oklahoma Senate were sworn in at 11 a.m.

Reif administered the oath of office for both Houses.

Republican Gov. Mary Fallin, reelected to a second term, greeted lawmakers during a reception on the fourth floor of the Capitol.

“Every session has its own personality,” Fallin said.

The first session of the 55th Oklahoma Legislature will convene in February.

Support our publication

Every day we strive to produce journalism that matters — stories that strengthen accountability and transparency, provide value and resonate with readers like you.

This work is essential to a better-informed community and a healthy democracy. But it isn’t possible without your support.