Fallin Declares Emergency for 25 Counties

Print More


State Capitol Photo 1

M. Scott Carter

M. Scott Carter

M. Scott Carter reports on politics, legislation and other issues from the State Capitol.

Gov. Mary Fallin declared a state of¬†emergency today for 25 counties affected by Wednesday’s tornadoes, her spokesman Alex Weintz confirmed.

Fallon’s emergency declaration includes the counties of Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cleveland, Comanche, Creek, Garvin, Grady, Lincoln, Logan, Love, McClain, Murray, Oklahoma, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Rogers, Seminole, Stephen, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington and Washita.

The governor’s emergency declaration is the first step needed to qualify the state for federal disaster relief funds. Those funds, administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, are used to help an area recover from natural disasters. Under the program, FEMA pays 75 percent of the clean-up cost. The state will pay 12.5 percent and the municipality will cover the remaining 12.5 percent.

Wednesday evening, tornadoes struck homes in Moore, located in central Oklahoma, and heavily damaged parts of the Tulsa area, in northeastern Oklahoma.